Home > Uncategorized > Bad Days With Windows

Bad Days With Windows

Today is one of those days why Linux seems better and better because today is the day Windows Small Business Server crapped out again. I do not know if it is just me but it seems once a year around this time my server software craps out and I have to reinstall which requires a return to backup. Last year at this time there was something which caused the blue screen of death and it was time for a new server so it got upgraded to better hardware. It is hard to not think about using Linux for the file server to store the files for a server that will not crash. The server software is SBS 2003 and an upgrade is needed but the cost of SBS is very pricy and it is hard to justify cost for just a file server. One problem is though we live in a Microsoft Windows world and it would be hard switch but in these days Linux plays well with Windows. The switch would be just the file server and this would put things in a more stable situation.

When it comes down to servers you have to upgrade the operations system to keep it up to date and secure and does not matter how old it may be. Today the Microsoft Small Business Server 2003 came up with blue screen of death and might have messed up the back-up in the process. When Window breaks it breaks and it takes forever to put back together. Even if you have to re-install and restore from back-up it still a full day commitment by a network admin which never have the time for and this is the worst time of the year to happen. At these times you may think about upgrading even if it is not the right timing but either way you got to get things going quickly.

In this case it was a bad hard drive which will wreak havoc on you for at least a week or two by the time you get your files in order. For a long time Microsoft’s Small Business Server was the choice of our main file server which worked great when you used Windows XP but now there has been more flavors of windows out in the market the perks of SBS has faded. The new computers come with more of the home additions and can be getting converted to a work environment with an upgrade. The business upgrade will allow domain connectivity for network security will be available for the users in this environment. At this point a simple purpose was needed a file server which will allow these files are read only over here and those files are read and write access over there.

Looking at the server in the grand scheme it just was not worth the price to replace the main hard drive which will fail in less than a year due to the technology EIDE just is not what it used to be. There was an old set of SCSI hard drives sitting around doing nothing so they were tried. The windows driver which was downloaded in hopes it will work failed so the decision was made to put the Debian Linux disk in and give it a try. The install found all the hardware and installed the files correctly and amazed to see the install had the info for the SCSI hardware. In a short period of time there was a working Debian desk top working correctly.

Ok that was the easy part getting the rest of it together took l almost two days of looking stuff up trying it out. I found a video which helped out a lot because it walks you through the setup of windows file server in Debian http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F7AHu0rax_4 to see the set of videos to get you up and running. There was some other issues like getting an ntfs file system to share in a Linux box but it is up and running. The openssh server addition was installed with putty for remote access and this makes making server changes much easier.

After the install and configuration was completed the feeling of free of Microsoft is starting to take hold I do believe Microsoft has done a lot for example the Microsoft.Net framework which has made so much happen to user to database interaction to make e-commerce what it is today. Even myself I have created a very large web presence off of http://www.epiccomputers.biz to have all the things in place but when it comes down to the prices for software upgrades it can be hard to reach in these economic times. So at times the decisions have to be made to choose the more inexpensive avenue to keep the books balanced. When it comes to this one it was a winner and will stay in this condition until the next break down.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 23, 2012 at 8:57 am

    Hi there to all, since I am genuinely eager of reading this webpage’s post to be updated on a regular basis. It contains nice information.

  2. December 25, 2012 at 12:02 am

    It’s awesome in favor of me to have a web page, which is beneficial designed for my experience. thanks admin

  3. December 27, 2012 at 10:49 pm

    I found this weblog very awesome and I just wanna thanks for that. I hope you keep up the good work!

  4. January 5, 2013 at 5:53 am

    Excellent items from you, man. I have remember your stuff prior to and
    you’re just extremely excellent. I actually like what you’ve bought here, really like what you’re saying and the way wherein you say it. You are making it enjoyable and you still take care of to stay it sensible. I can’t wait to read far more from you.

    This is really a great web site.

  5. January 8, 2013 at 2:18 pm

    Hiya! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa?
    My website goes over a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe
    we could greatly benefit from each other. If you’re interested feel free to send me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

  6. January 20, 2013 at 10:52 pm

    I enjoy what you guys are up too. This kind of clever work and exposure!

    Keep up the superb works guys I’ve you guys to blogroll.

  7. January 23, 2013 at 5:45 am

    After looking into a number of the blog posts on your website, I honestly like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back in the near future. Please visit my web site as well and tell me how you feel.

  8. January 23, 2013 at 10:35 am

    A motivating discussion is definitely worth comment. There’s no doubt that that you should publish more about this issue, it may not be a taboo matter but typically people don’t speak about these topics. To the next! Kind regards!!

  9. January 25, 2013 at 11:18 pm

    You should be a part of a contest for one of the finest websites online. I will highly recommend this web site!

  10. January 28, 2013 at 7:38 am

    I wanted to thank you for this excellent read!! I absolutely enjoyed every bit of it. I have you saved as a favorite to look at new stuff you post…

  11. January 28, 2013 at 3:09 pm

    I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Very well written!

  12. January 29, 2013 at 12:43 am

    I needed to thank you for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it. I’ve got you book marked to look at new stuff you post…

  13. January 30, 2013 at 12:36 am

    Aw, this was an exceptionally nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to make a top notch article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a lot and don’t manage to get anything done.

  14. January 30, 2013 at 8:27 am

    The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesn’t fail me just as much as this particular one. I mean, Yes, it was my choice to read, however I really believed you’d have something helpful to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something you could possibly fix if you weren’t too busy looking for attention.

  15. January 31, 2013 at 7:31 am

    That is a very good tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere. Short but very accurate information… Thank you for sharing this one. A must read article!

  16. January 31, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    Your style is so unique in comparison to other folks I have read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this web site.

  17. January 31, 2013 at 10:16 pm

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this website needs far more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the advice!

  18. February 1, 2013 at 10:51 am

    I was able to find good advice from your blog posts.

  19. February 2, 2013 at 12:26 am

    Everyone loves it whenever people get together and share opinions. Great website, stick with it!

  20. February 2, 2013 at 6:39 am

    I was extremely pleased to discover this website. I wanted to thank you for your time for this fantastic read!! I definitely appreciated every little bit of it and I have you saved to fav to look at new information in your web site.

  21. February 4, 2013 at 3:47 pm

    It’s nearly impossible to find educated people in this particular subject, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  22. February 12, 2013 at 1:36 pm

    Having read this I thought it was very enlightening. I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this content together. I once again find myself spending a significant amount of time both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  23. February 12, 2013 at 11:03 pm

    I was more than happy to find this website. I wanted to thank you for ones time due to this fantastic read!! I definitely savored every bit of it and i also have you book-marked to see new things in your website.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment